WARWICK DISTRICT COUNCIL COUNCIL	Agenda Item No. 6		
Title	Return of Councillors Elected and Political Proportionality		
For further information about this report please contact	Graham Leach Democratic Services Manager & Deputy Monitoring Officer 01926 456114 graham.leach@warwickdc.gov.uk		
Wards of the District directly affected	ted All		
Is the report private and confidential and not for publication by virtue of a paragraph of schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972, following the Local Government (Access to Information) (Variation) Order 2006?	No		
Date and meeting when issue was last considered and relevant minute number	N/A		
Background Papers	N/A		

Contrary to the policy framework:	No
Contrary to the budgetary framework:	No
Key Decision?	No
Included within the Forward Plan? (If yes include reference number)	No
Equality Impact Assessment Undertaken	No

Officer Approval	Date	Name	
Deputy Chief Executive	7 May 2019	Andrew Jones	
Head of Service			
CMT			
Section 151 Officer			
Monitoring Officer	7 May 2019	Andrew Jones	
Consultation & Community Engagement			
None			
Final Decision?		Yes	
Suggested next steps (if not final decision please set out below)			

## 1. **Summary**

1.1 The report details the names of the Councillors elected to the Council; the Ward they represent; the party they are a member of; and the resultant political proportionality of the Council.

#### 2. **Recommendations**

- 2.1 That Council notes the details of those Councillors elected on 2 May 2019, as set out at Appendix 1.
- 2.2 That Council notes the Political Proportionality of the Council as follows:

Group	Number of Councillors	Percentage of Council
Conservative	19	43.18
Liberal Democrat	9	20.45
Green	8	18.18
Labour	5	11.36
Whitnash Residents Association	3	6.82

#### 3. Reasons for the Recommendations

- 3.1 Appendix 1 to the report details the Councillors elected to the Council along with the Ward they represent and party they are a member of.
- 3.2 The political proportionality calculation is undertaken in accordance with the statutory political balance rules: The law requires the Council to allocate committee seats to registered political groups in accordance with those rules. The rules are as follows:
  - 1. The majority party must have a majority of seats on every committee. Where there are co-opted voting members this is a majority of all seats, not just those held by councillors.
  - 2. The total number of committee seats must be proportionate. So where a Group has for example 58% of Council seats, it should have 58% of the committee seats.
  - 3. Each individual committee must be as proportionate as possible.
- 3.3 These rules can sometimes can be difficult to be adhere to in reality as it depends on the number and size of the political groups. If difficulties arise, the first rule is the most important, then the second and then the third.
- 3.4 With regard to the Overview & Scrutiny Committee, normal practice at Warwick District Council is to provide the opposition the greater number of seats on the Committee. However to move away from being politically proportionate would require Council to approve this with no individual Councillor voting against this proposal. Until the composition of the Executive is known, the membership of this Committee cannot be calculated,

3.5 The table below sets out the proposed allocation of seats for each Committee based on the aforementioned principles:

			Liberal			
	Size	Conservative	Democrat	Green	Labour	WRA*
Council	44	19	9	8	5	3
Licensing &						
Regulatory						
Committee	15	7	3	3	2	1
Standards	11	5	2	2	1	1
<b>Employment</b>	11	5	2	2	1	1
Overview &		2	2	?	?	2
Scrutiny	11	:	•	:		:
Finance &						
Audit	11	5	2	2	1	1
Planning	11	5	2	2	1	1
Outside						
organisations	12	5	3	2	1	1

<sup>\*</sup> Whitnash Residents Association

3.7 The Executive is not a Committee as its membership is appointed by the Leader. Therefore the Executive is not detailed within this report and the same applies to those outside appointments which the Executive members are to be appointed to.

### 4. **Policy Framework**

### 4.1 Fit for the Future (FFF)

The Council's FFF Strategy is designed to deliver the Vision for the District of making it a Great Place to Live, Work and Visit. To that end amongst other things the FFF Strategy contains several Key projects, however this report does not directly relate to them.

- 4.2 **Supporting Strategies -** Each strand of the FFF Strategy has several supporting strategies however this report does not impact on them.
- 4.3 **Changes to Existing Policies** There are no proposals to amend existing policies.
- 4.4 **Impact Assessments** No assessment has taken place as the report is a statement of fact based upon the outcome of the 2019 District Council elections.

#### 5. **Budgetary Framework**

5.1 The report does not impact on either the budgetary framework or budget for the Council.

#### 6. Risks

6.1 There are no significant risks associated with the report as it is for information only.

# 7. Alternative Option(s) considered

7.1 The report is for information only and therefore no alternative recommendations have been considered.

## 8. **Background**

8.1 This should contain any additional information which does not form the reasons for the recommendation section of the report.

# Appendix 1

Ward	Councillor	Party
Bishop's Tachbrook	Andrew Day	Conservative
	David Norris	Conservative
Budbrooke	Jan Matecki	Conservative
	Alan Rhead	Conservative
Cubbington & Leek Wootton	Pamela Redford	Conservative
	Trevor Wright	Conservative
Kenilworth Abbey & Arden	John Cooke	Conservative
The minute of the second of th	Richard Hales	Conservative
	George Illingworth	Conservative
Kenilworth Park Hill	Alix Dearing	Green
The state of the s	John Dearing	Green
	Alistair Kennedy	Green
Kenilworth St John's	Kate Dickson	Liberal Democrat
The state of the second of the	Richard Dickinson	Liberal Democrat
	Andrew Milton	Liberal Democrat
Leamington Brunswick	Ian Davison	Green
Zeanmigeon Branomen	Amy Evans	Green
	Naveen Tangri	Green
Leamington Clarendon	Geraldine Cullinan	Labour
Learnington clarendon	Jon Nicholls	Labour
	Jerry Weber	Labour
Leamington Lillington	Alan Boad	Liberal Democrat
Leanington Linnigton	Heather Calver	Liberal Democrat
	Philip Kohler	Liberal Democrat
Leamington Milverton	Carolyn Gifford	Liberal Democrat
	Bill Gifford	Liberal Democrat
	Sidney Syson	Liberal Democrat
Leamington Willes	Martin Luckhurst	Green
	Mini Mangat	Labour
	Will Roberts	Green
Radford Semele	Valerie Leigh-Hunt	Conservative
Warwick All Saints & Woodloes	Moira-Ann Grainger	Conservative
	Oliver Jacques	Conservative
	Jody Tracey	Conservative
Warwick Aylesford	Martyn Ashford	Conservative
,	Liam Bartlett	Conservative
Warwick Myton & Heathcote	Neale Murphy	Conservative
,	Mary Noone	Conservative
	Sukhi Sanghera	Conservative
Warwick Saltisford	Terry Morris	Conservative
	Dave Skinner	Labour
Whitnash	Judy Falp	Whitnash Residents
	,	Association
	Tony Heath	Whitnash Residents
		Association
	Robert Margrave	Whitnash Residents
		Association