WARWICK DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on Wednesday 12 May 2004 at the Town Hall, Royal Leamington Spa at 6.30 pm.

PRESENT: Councillor Doody (Chairman); Councillors Ashford, Mrs Begg,

Mrs Blacklock, Boad, Mrs Bunker, Butler, Caborn, Chander, Cockburn,

Coker, Mrs Compton, Copping, Crowther, Davies, Davis,

Ms De-Lara-Bond, Mrs Edwards, Evans, Ms Flanagan, Gifford, Gill, Mrs Goode, Guest, Hammon, Harris, Hatfield, Ms Hirsch, Holland, Kinson, Kirton, Mrs Knight, Kundi, Mrs McFarland, Pratt, Mrs Sawdon,

Shilton, Short, Tamlin and Windybank.

1. PRAYER

A prayer was offered by the Chairman's Chaplain.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Mrs Falp, Mrs Hodgetts, MacKay, Offer, Sandhar and Smith.

3. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Councillor Mrs M A Begg, seconded by Councillor W L Gifford and

RESOLVED that Councillor Christopher Charles Lawson Davis be elected Chair of Warwick District Council for the year 2004/05.

Councillor Davis then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chair of the Council, returned thanks for his election and delivered his Chair's address. Councillor Davis also announced that during the forthcoming year his charities would be Warwick Hospital's League of Friends and the work of the Machen Eye Unit, and Leamington Rotary and their work with child drug misuse prevention through Life Education Mobile Classrooms.

4. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor Mrs A Blacklock, seconded Councillor R C H Copping and

RESOLVED that Councillor David John Shilton be appointed Vice-Chairman of Warwick District Council for the year 2004/05.

Councillor Shilton then made the declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman, and returned thanks for his appointment.

5. **APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLIN**

The Chair announced the appointment of Reverend Alister Mort as his Chaplin, and invested him with the Badge of Office.

COUNCIL MINUTES (Continued)

6. PRESENTATION OF FLOWERS

Flowers were then presented to Mrs V Davis, Mrs S Shilton, Mrs S Doody, Reverend Warnes, and the Chief Executive.

7. **VOTES OF THANKS**

It was moved by Councillor L G Windybank, seconded by Councillor J S Hammon and unanimously

RESOLVED that the appreciation of the Council be placed on record for the excellent services rendered by the retiring Chairman, Councillor M Doody, and Mrs S Doody during the past year.

Councillor Doody then acknowledged the vote of thanks.

8. PRESENTATION OF BADGES

The Chair presented the past Chairman's Badge to Councillor M Doody and the Past Chairman's Consorts Badge to Mrs S Doody.

9. **MINUTES**

The minutes of the meeting of the Council held on 21 April 2004, were taken as read, approved and signed by the Chair.

11. APPOINTMENTS

It was moved by Councillor Crowther and duly seconded that the nominations for membership of the Executive, including Portfolio Holders, and the Committees, including substitute members, as set out in Appendix 8 of the Agenda, be approved, subject to Councillor Gill being a member of the Standards Committee, with Councillor Ms Hirsch being a named substitute, and to Mr Ioan Morgan being appointed as an Independent member of the Standards Committee.

First Amendment: It was moved by Councillor Coker and duly seconded that

the Executive of ten members be appointed with the additional three members to those referred to in Appendix A, comprised two members from the Conservative group

and one from the Independent group.

In accordance with Council Procedure Rule 15(2), on the requisition of one member supported by two other members, the vote on the amendment was recorded and, on the vote being taken, the amendment was declared lost, the voting being as follows:-

For the amendment: 18

Councillors Mrs Bunker, Butler, Caborn, Cockburn, Coker, Mrs Compton, Davies, Doody, Mrs Edwards, Guest, Hammon, Hatfield, Kinson, Kirton, Pratt,

COUNCIL MINUTES (Continued)

Mrs Sawdon, Short, Windybank.

Against the amendment: 22

Councillors Ashford, Mrs Begg, Mrs Blacklock, Boad, Chander, Copping, Crowther, Davis, Ms De-Lara-Bond, Evans, Ms Flanagan, Gifford, Gill, Mrs Goode, Harris, Ms Hirsch, Holland, Mrs Knight, Kundi, Mrs MacFarland, Shilton, Tamlin.

Abstentions: nil.

The motion from Councillor Crowther was then put to the meeting as the substantive motion and declared carried.

(The meeting ended at 7.45 pm)

CHAIR

I:\secs\members\Minutes\council 12.5.doc