WARWICK DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 14 May 2008, at the Town Hall, Royal Learnington Spa at 6.30 pm.

PRESENT: Councillor Caborn (Chairman); Councillors Barrott, Mrs Blacklock, Boad, Britland, Mrs Bunker, Coker, Copping, Crowther, De-Lara-Bond, Ms Dean, Malcolm Doody, Michael Doody, Edwards, Mrs Falp, Mrs Gallagher, Gifford, Gill, Mrs Grainger, Hammon, Hatfield, Heath, Mrs Higgins, Illingworth, Kinson, Kirton, Mrs Knight, MacKay, Mrs McFarland, Mrs Mellor, Mobbs, Pittarello, Pratt, Mrs Sawdon, Mrs Scarrott, Shilton, Mrs Tyrrell, Vincett, Weed and White.

1. **PRAYER**

A prayer was offered by the Chairman's Chaplain.

2. APOLOGIES

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Dhillon, Mrs Goode, Guest, Harris, and Rhead.

3. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Councillor B Kirton, seconded by Councillor B Mackay and

<u>RESOLVED</u> that Councillor Mrs Judith Falp be elected Chairman of Warwick District Council for the year 2008/09.

Councillor Mrs Falp then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman of the Council, returned thanks for her election and delivered her Chairman's address.

Councillor Mrs Falp also announced that during the forthcoming year, her charities would be Myton Hospice and Safeline.

4. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor J Hammon, seconded by Councillor M Doody and

<u>RESOLVED</u> that Councillor Norman Henry Pratt be appointed Vice-Chairman of Warwick District Council for the year 2008/09.

Councillor Pratt then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chairman of the Council, and returned thanks for his appointment.

5. APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLAINS

The Chairman announced the appointment of Reverend Richard Suffern and Reverend Dr David Bate as her Chaplains, and invested them with the badges of office.

COUNCIL MINUTES (Continued)

6. **PRESENTATION OF FLOWERS**

Flowers were then presented to Mr Falp, Mrs Caborn, Mrs Pratt, Councillor Pratt, Reverend Suffern, Reverend Dr Bate, Reverend Morgan, and the Chief Executive.

7. VOTE OF THANKS

It was moved by Councillor M Coker, seconded by Councillor N Pratt, and unanimously

RESOLVED that the appreciation of the Council be placed on record for the excellent services rendered by the retiring Chairman, Councillor Les Caborn, and Mrs Jenny Caborn, during the past year.

Councillor Caborn then acknowledged the Vote of Thanks.

8. **PRESENTATION OF BADGES**

The Chairman presented the Past Chairman's Badge to Councillor L Caborn, and the Past Chairman's Consort's Badge to Mrs J Caborn.

9. **MINUTES**

The Minutes of the meeting of the Council held on the 23 April 2008, were taken as read, approved and signed by the Chairman.

10. **APPOINTMENTS**

RESOLVED that:

- the nominations for membership of the Executive, including the appointment of the Portfolio Holders, and Committees, including substitute Members, as set out in Appendix A, be approved and adopted;
- (2) the consequential amendments to the Constitution, be approved; and
- (3) Councillor Michael Doody be appointed Leader of the Executive for 2008/09.

(The meeting ended at 7.40 pm)

CHAIRMAN



MEMBERSHIP OF THE EXECUTIVE AND COMMITTEES 2008/09

EXECUTIVE (9)

Councillor Mrs Bunker Councillor Caborn Councillor Michael Doody **Councillor Mrs Grainger** Councillor Hammon Councillor Kinson Councillor Kirton **Councillor Shilton Councillor White**

PORTFOLIO HOLDERS

Corporate and Resources Community Culture Customer and Business Development Environment Housina Human Resources Legal/Documentation

Councillor Michael Doody Councillor Mrs Bunker Councillor White Councillor Caborn Councillor Hammon Councillor Kinson **Councillor Mrs Grainger Councillor Shilton Councillor Kirton**

AUDIT AND RESOURCES SCRUTINY OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE (15) (new)

Councillor Mrs Blacklock Councillor Ms Dean Councillor Dhillon Councillor Malcolm Doody **Councillor Edwards Councillor Illingworth Councillor Mrs Knight** Councillor MacKay **Councillor Mrs Mellor Councillor Mobbs Councillor Pittarello** Councillor Pratt Councillor Rhead Councillor Mrs Tyrell Councillor Vincett

COMMITTEE (15) (new)

Councillor Barrott **Councillor Boad** Councillor Britland **Councillor Coker** Councillor Copping **Councillor Davies** Councillor De-Lara-Bond Councillor Mrs Gallagher Councillor Gifford Councillor Gill **Councillor Mrs Higgins** Councillor Mrs Sawdon Councillor Mrs Scarrott Councillor Ms. Weed Vacancy (Independent)

COUNCIL MINUTES (Continued)

EMPLOYMENT COMMITTEE (10)

Councillor Caborn Councillor Coker Councillor Crowther Councillor Michael Doody Councillor Gifford Councillor Mrs Goode Councillor Hammon Councillor Kirton Councillor Mrs Knight Councillor SHilton

MEMBERS/TRADES UNIONS JOINT CONSULTATION AND SAFETY PANEL (4)

Councillor Barrott Councillor Copping Councillor Kirton Councillor Mrs Scarrott

LICENSING COMMITTEE (15)

Councillor Britland Councillor Crowther Councillor Coker Councillor Ms De Lara Bond Councillor Edwards Councillor Mrs Gallagher Councillor Mrs Goode Councillor Mrs Goode Councillor Harris Councillor Hatfield Councillor Heath Councillor Mobbs Councillor Pratt Councillor Mrs Scarrott Councillor Shilton

PLANNING COMMITTEE (10)

Councillor Barrott Councillor Mrs Blacklock Councillor Mrs Bunker Councillor Copping Councillor Dhillon Councillor Edwards Councillor Mrs Higgins Councillor Illingworth Councillor MacKay Councillor Rhead

COUNCIL MINUTES (Continued)

REGULATORY COMMITTEE (10)

Councillor Crowther Councillor Mrs Falp Councillor Mrs Gallagher Councillor Gill Councillor Mrs Goode Councillor Mrs Grainger Councillor Harris Councillor Mrs Mellor Councillor Mobbs Councillor Vincett

STANDARDS COMMITTEE (16)

Councillor Davies Councillor Gifford Councillor Guest Councillor Mrs Knight Councillor Heath Councillor Mrs McFarland Councillor Mrs Tyrrell VACANCY (Independent)

External Independent members

Ven M Paget-Wilkes Mr C R Purser (Two additional members to be appointed)

Parish/Town Councillors

Councillor Mrs Gordon Councillor Polgreen Councillor Singh Councillor Smart

CONSERVATION AREA ADVISORY FORUM

Councillor Ms Dean Councillor Gifford Councillor Mrs Falp Councillor Mrs Mellor