WARWICK DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting of the Annual Council held on Wednesday, 18 May 2005, at the Town Hall, Royal Leamington Spa at 6.30 pm.

PRESENT: Councillor Davis (Chair), Councillors Ashford, Mrs Begg, Mrs Blacklock,

Boad, Mrs Bunker, Caborn, Chander, Cockburn, Coker, Mrs Compton, Copping, Crowther, Davies, Ms De-Lara-Bond, Doody, Mrs Edwards, Evans, Mrs Falp, Ms Flanagan, Gifford, Gill, Mrs Goode, Guest, Hammon, Harris, Hatfield, Ms Hirsch, Holland, Kinson, Kirton, Mrs Knight, Kundi, MacKay, Mrs MacFarland, Mrs Mellor, Pratt, Sandhar, Mrs Sawdon, Shilton, Smith, Tamlin, Windybank.

5. PRAYER

A prayer was offered by the Chair's Chaplain.

6. **APOLOGIES**

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Short.

7. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

It was moved by Councillor R Copping, seconded by Councillor Mrs A Blacklock and

RESOLVED that Councillor Dave Shilton be elected Chairman of Warwick District Council for the year 2005/6.

Councillor Shilton then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Chairman of the Council, returned thanks for his election and delivered his Chairman's address. Councillor Shilton also announced that during the forthcoming year his Charities would be the Princess Diana Warwickshire and Northamptonshire Air Ambulance and the Kenilworth Branch Adult Division of St. John Ambulance.

8. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIR OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor J Holland, seconded by Councillor Mrs J Knight and

RESOLVED that Councillor Bill Evans be appointed Vice-Chair of Warwick District Council for the year 2005/6.

Councillor Evans then made the Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Vice-Chair, and returned thanks for his appointment.

9. **APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLAIN**

The Chairman announced the appointment of the Reverend Richard Awre as his Chaplain, and invested him with the Badge of Office.

10. PRESENTATION OF FLOWERS

Flowers were then presented to Mrs S Shilton, Mrs J Evans, Mrs V Davis, and the Chief Executive.

11 VOTE OF THANKS

It was moved by Councillor Mrs M Begg, seconded by Councillor B Gifford and unanimously

RESOLVED that the appreciation of the Council be placed on record for the excellent services rendered by the retiring Chair, Councillor C Davis, and Mrs V Davis, during the past year.

Councillor Davis then acknowledged the vote of thanks.

12. PRESENTATION OF BADGES

The Chairman presented the Past Chair's Badge to Councillor C Davis and the Past Chair's Consort's Badge to Mrs V Davis.

13. COMMITTEE STRUCTURE AND APPOINTMENTS

It was moved by Councillor Crowther, duly seconded and

RESOLVED that

- (1) the amendments to the Constitution regarding the Overview and Scrutiny Committee structure, (Appendix 'A'), and the nominations for membership of the Executive (including Portfolio Holders), and Committees including substitute Members, (Appendix 'B'), be approved and adopted; and
- (2) the membership of the Executive Overview and Scrutiny Committee, not being politically proportionate, be approved without opposition.

(The meeting ended at 7.30 pm)

CHAIRMAN

I:\secs\members\Minutes\annual council 185.doc