WARWICK DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of the meeting held on Wednesday 16 May 2007, at the Town Hall, Royal Leamington Spa at 6.30 pm.

PRESENT: Mr Evans (Chair); Councillors Barrott, Mrs Blacklock, Boad, Britland, Mrs Bunker, Caborn, Coker, Copping, Crowther, Davies, Ms De-Lara-Bond, Ms Dean, Dhillon, Malcolm Doody, Michael Doody, Edwards, Mrs Falp, Mrs Gallagher, Gifford, Gill, Mrs Goode, Mrs Grainger, Hammon, Harris, Hatfield, Heath, Mrs Higgins, Illingworth, Kinson, Kirton, Mrs Knight, Mackay, Mrs McFarland, Mrs Mellor, Mobbs, Pittarello, Pratt, Rhead, Mrs Sawdon, Mrs Scarrott, Shilton, Mrs Tyrrell, Vincett, Mrs Weed, White.

1. **PRAYER**

A period of reflection was presented by the Chair's Chaplains.

2. **APOLOGIES**

An apology for absence was received from Councillor Guest.

3. **ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN**

It was moved by Councillor N Pratt, seconded by Councillor J Hammon and

RESOLVED that Councillor Les Caborn be elected Chairman of Warwick District Council for the year 2007/8.

Councillor Caborn then made the declaration of acceptance of office of Chairman of the Council, returned thanks for his election and delivered his Chairman's address.

Councillor Caborn also announced that during the forthcoming year his charities would be the Acorns Children's Hospice and the Warwick Hospital Cancer Ward appeal.

4. APPOINTMENT OF VICE CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was moved by Councillor B Kirton, seconded by Councillor B Mackay and

RESOLVED that Councillor Mrs Judith Falp be appointed Vice Chairman of Warwick District Council for the year 2007/8.

Councillor Mrs Falp then made the declaration of acceptance of office of Vice Chairman, and returned thanks for her appointment.

5. APPOINTMENT OF CHAPLAIN

The Chairman announced the appointment of Reverend Michael Morgan as his Chaplain, and invested him with the badge of office.

COUNCIL MINUTES (Continued)

6. PRESENTATION OF FLOWERS

Flowers were then presented to Mrs Caborn, Mrs Evans, Mrs Falp, Mr Falp, Mr Rutter, and the Chief Executive.

7. VOTE OF THANKS

It was moved by Councillor Mrs J Knight, seconded by Councillor Mrs M McFarland and unanimously

RESOLVED that the appreciation of the Council be placed on record for the excellent services rendered by the retiring Chair, Mr Bill Evans, and Mrs J Evans, during the past year.

Mr Evans then acknowledged the vote of thanks.

8. PRESENTATION OF BADGES

The Chairman presented the Past Chair's Badge to Mr B Evans and the past Chair's Consort's Badge to Mrs J Evans.

9. **MINUTES**

The Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 25 April 2007, were taken as read, approved and signed by the Chairman.

10. RETURN OF MEMBERS ELECTED

The Chief Executive formally submitted the Returning Officer's report of Members elected to the Council at the election held on 3 May 2007, as set out in Appendix A.

RESOLVED that the report be noted.

11. APPOINTMENTS

RESOLVED that

- (1) the nominations for membership of the Executive, including the appointment of the Portfolio Holders, and Committees, including substitute members, as set out in Appendix B, be approved and adopted; and
- (2) that Councillor Michael Coker be appointed leader of the Executive for 2007/8.

(The meeting ended at 7.40 pm)

CHAIRMAN